Meet the Committee

Jim started RC in 1978; one electric car before he moved over to nitro. It was while on the committee of the Sandy Nitro Model Club, Jim discovered the Westmill Farm site. When the club moved in 2007 he continued as a committee member of the newly formed Herts Nitro Model Club.

Jim Thompson Chairman of the Club

Club member since 2011, on the committee since 2013 and treasurer from 2016. Rich started out car park bashing before getting into racing. It was at an SRS meeting that he met Jim and discovered HNMC.

Richard Cousins Treasurer

On the committee since 2013, Mark rarely misses a 1/8th meeting. He is passionate about track work and spearheaded the construction of the pit lane. He is often found in Race Control whether he is racing or not.

Mark Garratt Secretary.

With the club since 2016 and on the committee shortly after, both Aaron and Nicky race 1/8th nitro buggy. Aaron previously raced RC boats with great success; still having a few about the house.

Aaron and Nicky Knights

A 1/10th competitor at National level, Darren ran the 1/10th section on his own for a number of years. He remains heavily involved and focuses much of his energies on the 1/10th section development plans and event planning.

Darren Windsor

At the club since 2013 and on the committee since 2019, Harrison has raced at club and regional levels. Harrison brings a huge energy to the 1/10th team. He innovates many of the improvements to the track, creates the layouts, is race director of the 1/10th events and still manages to reach most A-finals.

Harrison Joyce Membership co-secretary

On the committee since 2004, John has been the general dog’s body, the Vice-Chair and the Chair of the Club in that time. The club itself was Sandy Nitro Model Club and located elsewhere when he first joined.

John Geaves

On the committee since 2007 and with a prodigious racing record; there isn’t much Karl doesn’t know about the club or the technical side of racing. As well as racing 1/8th nitro buggy and e-buggy, 1/10th buggy (2wd and 4wd), he is also mechanic for a world class 1/8th buggy team driver.

Karl Jackson

Joined the committee in 2015 and helped the club prepare for the Euro B’s.Been helping behind the scenes ever since and also support team to a world class 1/8th buggy team driver.

Lisa Niblett

Joined the club in 2018 and the committee in 2019. Paul started bashing and racing Tamiya buggys as a kid before moving onto touring cars. After a 10 year gap out of RC he rediscovered the passion while visiting the club during a 1/8th National. He is found sharing 1/10th Tuesday club night race duties as well as having heavy input into the social media side of the club.

Paul Burt Membership co-secretary

Prior to joining HNMC Steve ran touring cars and GT12. He has been with the club since 2008 and has a varied selection of 1/8th scale cars and truggies. He loves racing and bashing – bashing until they break!

Steve Chantler

Our Rock Crawling Emperor - Tony has been instrumental in our rock crawling section. He also has a host of other RC vehicles including 1/8th and 1/10th scale buggy’s and other vehicles.

Tony Verboom